STRANGER IN A STRANGE LAND


ENJOY THIS POEM WRITTEN BY AN OLD FRIEND OF MINE.

THANKS, KATHY– I CAN RELATE.







STRANGER IN A STRANGE LAND



Stranger in a strange land…

This land is your land,
this land is my land…

Not really.

This was my land when I was young.
Now I’ve rounded the corner,
past middle age.

I’m a stranger
feeling as though I don’t belong;
an intruder, encroaching on a landscape
where I no longer have a solid footing.

I’m almost 54.

I used to be someone
or, at least thought I was.

Perhaps it was just an illusion.

But I had a voice,
I had a song.

Folks listened,
and they watched to see what I would do next….
all of us marveling at the possibilities ahead of me.

Then, looking into the eyes of older folks, now long gone
as they relived memories of their heyday,
and remembered the intensity of their own youth,
I pushed impatiently past,
lost in the brilliant optimism of my own possibilities.

I remember my mom’s impassive eyes
in her 7th decade,
gazing back at her past
with wonder, perhaps regret
quietly regarding the unspoken words
that she heard all too clearly;
“move over, it’s my world now.”

And now I,
in what seemed like the middle of my ascent,
slipped softly past the point of no return
Without even knowing that it happened.

It is I who is expected to move out of the way.

But, I’m not ready…

I’m still relevant…

Significant…

I am.

I feel the same as I did when I was 20.
I don’t look the same but I’m still that girl;
still have plans and hopes and dreams.

But that face in the mirror looking back at me…
aging traitorously…
that’s not me!

But, that is me…

A stranger in a strange land.



Kathy Cristoforo (C)



You can check out Kathy’s blog at: In My Head

Posted on May 22, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Loved it, sister – that’s why I posted it. Your heart really comes through your writing, and I appreciate your honesty.

  2. Thank you Dennis…I didn’t know you posted this until someone mentioned it. Somehow I missed it. I’m glad you liked it.

Leave a Reply

