MAKE A 100-YEAR PLAN!



“Never concede to doing something so small
that it could be accomplished entirely
in your lifetime.”


Dr. Ralph Winter (1924-2009)




Dr. Winter founded the U.S. Center for World Mission in Pasadena, California where mission agencies from around the world strategize to build the Kingdom of God.

Dr. Winter also developed the world-renowned Perspectives on the World Christian Movement course, that will flip your world upside-down. Are you ready?

Posted on March 10, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Dennis, you are correct about my sterile comment. It was aimed at the white background and the powder blue stuff in here…

    Eric, I am starting to understand the upside-down kingdom to mean that in the eyes of God, the smallest thing that we do is HUGE. When I watched from the kitchen as you and D were laughing with the men, I saw ‘that which you have done to the least of these’.

    You are doing Big things my brother, especially in my eyes.

    PEACE

  2. OOPS!!! Perhaps you’re right, Dennis.

    Proverbs 17:28
    “Even a fool is thought wise if he keeps silent, and discerning if he holds his tongue.”

    Next time I’ll look before I leap.

  3. Dennis,
    I went to the “Perspectives on the World Christian Movement” link and saw that their classes have started already. i inquired thru e-mail and they won’t start again until next Jan.
    this was at a church in Washington twp.
    It costs about 200.00 but it might be worth it …

    God Bless

  4. Bro Eric,

    I believe newmission’s “sterile” reference was to the redesign of the blog, not the content of the “Make a 100-Year Plan” post. However, thanks for your comment, which should provoke and encourage others to rely solely on God’s ability – not our own strength – to fulfill His will in our lives.

  5. Sterile???

    “Never concede to doing something so small that it could be accomplished entirely in your lifetime.”

    Au contraire mon ami, this statement is forcing me to think about what I’m doing (or more specifically, not doing!). It’s challenging me to go forth and do the word, not with my strength but with the strength of Jesus. I suck in my own righteousness. I don’t even come close to the task Jesus has for me when I walk in my own understanding. I do the things so small and am left wanting. BUT when I allow the Lord to lead and guide me, show me a better way and I actually walk in that way, my brain becomes full of “God’s” thoughts and ideas. I begin to dream about things that are way too big for me, but want to do them anyway. I desire to pursue the vision of Jesus for my life even though I know in my own strength it’s impossible. I’m tired of the “let’s talk about it” part, the repetitious things we say but don’t do. I want a big plan from a big God that is way over my head.

    Isn’t it easier to talk about faith rather than walking in it? We can make all kinds of “statements” but are they faith? Are they the words of Jesus, words that are deep and full of life? Or are they meaningless drivel that spark contention?

    100-year plan? I’ll be dead in 20 years, but why not plan anyway?

  6. Just seems a bit sterile in here now…..

  7. I’m cryin’ …

  8. EWWWWWWWWW…… YUKKKKK>… PEEEEEEE YOUUUUUUUU…
    What happened to the beautiful Blog … this feels like a hospital…
    Cough…cough….

    PEACE

Leave a Reply

