A SERVANT’S PRAYER

Make me a broken, humble, and pliable vessel;
Mold me to exemplify Your tolerance and grace.

Teach me to learn the lessons of suffering;
While failing and falling, show me the meaning of trust.

Encourage me to encourage;
Incline my ear to hear.

Let me learn to pour out of the heart and not out of the mouth;
Teach me to persevere with my brothers.

Help me to seize the day, not to seize cities;
To lend a hand with your bountiful gifts.

Cause me to toil in your vineyards of love,
and to give away the sustenance You so freely have given.

– by Sharon

TEARS OF THE SAINTS by Leeland

Posted on September 21, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Thanks, Salam, for the post. Note that I’ve put this right into the blog, so everybody will be sure to see it.

  2. I woke up this mornin’ and none of the news was good
    And death machines were rumblin’ ‘cross the ground where Jesus stood
    And the man on my TV told me that it had always been that way
    And there was nothin’ anyone could do or say

    And I almost listened to him
    Yeah, I almost lost my mind
    Then I regained my senses again
    And looked into my heart to find

    That I believe that one fine day all the children of Abraham
    Will lay down their swords forever in Jerusalem

    Well maybe I’m only dreamin’ and maybe I’m just a fool
    But I don’t remember learnin’ how to hate in Sunday school
    But somewhere along the way I strayed and I never looked back again
    But I still find some comfort now and then

    Then the storm comes rumblin’ in
    And I can’t lay me down
    And the drums are drummin’ again
    And I can’t stand the sound

    But I believe there’ll come a day when the lion and the lamb
    Will lie down in peace together in Jerusalem

    And there’ll be no barricades then
    There’ll be no wire or walls
    And we can wash all this blood from our hands
    And all this hatred from our souls

    And I believe that on that day all the children of Abraham
    Will lay down their swords forever in Jerusalem

  3. beautiful… thank you. praying this today.

  4. Thank you sharon for not seizing me or my city. Thank you for sharing with me, Puer tea and exposing your heart. Thank you for sharing your children and grand-children with my family.
    Thank you for helping my wife live through a painful time by sharing your pain and hurt with her to make her feel as if she were not alone.
    Salam Alaikum

  5. Shalom
    Hey Dennis and Sharon
    Thru CHRIST JESUS YOU HAVE THE BLESSING OF ABRAHAM. We will call ya’ll soon.
    Love You Both
    Bonnie

  6. Western dogmatic christian

    7To keep me from becoming conceited because of these surpassingly great revelations, there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. 8Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. 9But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.
    11I have made a fool of myself,

    God Bless You Dennis and Sharon
    I love the both of you !!

  7. Sharon,

    This is great. As I read each line, I could hear your voice and see your heart. It so reminded me of something that you said to me many times. “Grow not weary of well doing”. This prayer is a true reflection of servanthood. Thank you.

    I think I get what you are saying “Help me to seize the day, not to seize cities;” The way I interpret it is to not seize the people of the cities, but the spiritual territories for Christ’s sake. Change the spiritual climate so that the people would be won for Christ. Am I correct?

    I miss you and would love to hear your voice up close and personal, face to face. I love you and pray for Dennis, you and your growing family.

    Love you,
    Judy

  8. I love this poem too. Beautifully spoken and so true.

    I love the part about inclining our ear to hear, sometimes we just aren’t listening or seeing. Just in seeing and hearing birds I take comfort to know he is all around me.

    But also to hear his voice and to know him.. Thank you Sharon and Dennis for all you are doing with this blog.. Miss ya…

  9. Thank you Sharon for a prayer of new covenant faith and understanding. A faith to ‘conquer’ by love and suffering for the ones who would ‘conquer’ us. A new understanding that the only way to win is to lose. A covenant designed by God to give and not take.
    PEACE

  10. Amen!

    May the Lord pour through us all that He is! Love, joy, peace, patience, kindness.

    I miss you both Sharon and Dennis! And I’m so glad to see your website!

    In Christ,
    Julie

  11. I love the prayer Sharon. It’s great to hear your heart again. I just don’t understand what you mean by the line ‘…help me to seize the day, not to seize cities…” When Jesus came to turn the world upside down, and so did His disciples, one city and one nation at a time. Throughout the old testament God had His people take over one city and one nation at a time and when they failed Him, He let their enemy take over them. Should we do the same?

    I love you guys and are praying for you.

  12. I love the part about encouraging from the mouth. Thanks!

  13. Make me … pliable…
    While failing and falling…trust…
    Encourage me to encourage…
    Let me pour out of the heart, NOT out of the mouth…

    Now THOSE are words of great wisdom and faith. Straight to the point, straight to the heart, straight from the heart…

    I LOVE YOU, Sharon. Praying for you, with you. Believing for you, with you and in you. Always.

  14. Kathy Cristoforo

    A beautiful prayer Sharon. I agree.

  15. Yes, Sharon, AMEN!!

  16. Good work Sharon. Dennis why are you up at 3 a.m.? Go to bed. Peace!

Leave a Reply

