HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ME

What a great time of year! A fresh start. Well-intended resolutions. Fresh goals. Inspired dreams. A blank slate.

Most of us experience the rush of a new year, and it gives us hope. This is our chance to move into deeper ministry, buff up family relationships or lose that weight we keep talking about. We say, “Now I’m focused. I’m serious – this time I mean it. I’m gonna lose 20 pounds, get up earlier and pray every morning (in fact, I can pray while I’m on the exercycle). I’ll read my Bible more, eat less and maybe even take a class or two. I’m going to be all that God wants me to be!”

God desires to bless us, and this is all good. But is it His best?

Why do we always focus on “me” at times like this? I will … ” “My pledge is … ” “Oh God, change me!”

What about those who have nothing right now? The millions of people right here in our own country who are struggling to survive; to hold their families together; to fight addiction, hopelessness and homelessness. What about them?

Not to mention the billions who inhabit this ball we call Earth, who have never heard of Jesus. They may see God all around them, but they don’t know the Way, the Truth and the Life. How will they hear unless you tell them?

Yeah, you!

You see, it shouldn’t be about us – about you or me. The Gospel is and always has been about them. Jesus didn’t come to serve himself, or to accomplish some grand strategy to become the best God he could be. What are we doing? Why do we always want to become better Christians? And how do we do that anyway?

I submit that we’re called to follow. Just follow …

Matthew 19:21“Jesus said to him, ‘If you want to be perfect, go, sell what you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, follow Me.'”

Gaza

Gaza

Posted on January 5, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. thank you; a good push forward into the new year.
    challenged and compelled.

  2. You clearly stated what I have felt for years but have been unable to put into words. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

